Striving for Racial Justice in Academic Biology

Tuesday, December 1 at 12:00pm

An initiative sponsored by the Society for the Advancement in Biology Education Research (SABER) focused on promoting awareness, understanding and commitment to change academic biology environments to be more inclusive and strive for racial justice in STEM education. This 7-part series includes four discussions and three research seminars with the intended audience of biologists and biology education researchers. All 1-hour sessions will be virtual and administered through Zoom; sessions will be recorded and posted on the SABER website for viewing afterwards. We are excited that speakers will be compensated for their time and this event is co-sponsored by Arizona State University’s HHMI Inclusive Excellence Project, SEISMIC Collaboration, and University of California Santa Barbara.

SABER discussion
“Race REALLY matters.”
Date: Thursday, Aug. 27
Time: 9 a.m. (PT) // 10 a.m. (MT) // 11a.m. (CT) //noon (ET)
Speaker: David Asai, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/94994705381

SABER discussion
“Actionable steps toward equity in STEM.”
Date: Thursday, Sep. 10
Time: 10a.m.(PT) // 11a.m.(MT) // noon (CT) // 1 p.m. (ET)
Speakers: Star Sharp, Penn State University, John Matsui, PhD, UC Berkeley
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/93202762402

SABER discussion
“Lessons from a hot spring: Authentic transformation in the higher education classroom.”
Date: Monday, Sep. 21
Time: 9 a.m. (PT) // 10 a.m. (MT) // 11 a.m. (CT) // noon (ET)
Speaker: Bryan Dewsbury, PhD, University of Rhode Island
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/97863675033

SABER discussion
“Language matters: Considering racial microaggressions in science.”
Date: Thursday, Oct. 8
Time: 11:30 a.m. (PT) // 12:30 p.m. (MT) // 1:30 p.m. (CT) // 2:30 p.m. (ET)
Speakers: Colin Harrison, PhD, Georgia Tech, Kimberly Tanner, PhD, San Francisco State University
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/97235381892

SABER seminar
“But is it really “just” science? Engaging critical race theory to unpack racial oppression with implications for Black student science engagement.”
Date: Wednesday, Oct. 21
Time: 9 a.m. (PT) // 10 a.m. (MT) // 11 a.m. (CT) // noon (ET)
Speaker: Terrell Morton, PhD, University of Missouri
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/92158713296

SABER seminar
“Black women and belongingness: An interrogation of STEM education as a white, patriarchal space.”
Date: Thursday, Nov. 19
Time: noon (PT) // 1 p.m. MT // 2 p.m. (CT) // 3 p.m. (ET)
Speakers: Luis Leyva, PhD and Nicole Joseph, PhD, Vanderbilt University
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/94696434185

SABER seminar
“An exploratory investigation of the experiences of Black immigrant women in undergraduate STEM.”
Date: Tuesday, Dec. 1
Time: noon (PT) // 1 p.m. (MT) // 2 p.m. (CT) // 3 p.m. (ET)
Speakers: Meseret Hailu, PhD and Brooke Coley, PhD, Arizona State University
Zoom: asu.zoom.us/j/98196412224

All talks will be posted online afterwards at:
saberbio.wildapricot.org/Diversity_Inclusion

Center for Innovative Teaching, Research, and Learning
CITRAL, UC Santa Barbara Library, Room 1576

Event Type

Classes & Workshops, Lectures & Presentations

Department
Center for Innovative Teaching, Research, and Learning
Subscribe
Google Calendar iCal Outlook